The Daily Post

Where I spent most of my time at age 12.

In a reversal of Big, the Tom Hanks classic from the 80s, your adult self is suddenly locked in the body of a 12-year-old kid. How do you survive your first day back in school?

Wow.  Who hasn’t thought of going back and doing it all over again?  I’ve actually thought about this, a lot, over the years.  It would totally depend upon whether or not I get to go back keeping my current knowledge.

I use to think that if I could go back and do it all over again that I would re-invent myself.  I would no longer be the shy, intimidated, average girl that I was.  I would be outgoing, popular and confident.  I would make better grades. I would go to that dance that I was asked to in Jr. High, but was too nervous to say yes to.

Yes, I’ve thought about this a lot!  And I’ve come to an important conclusion.  If I could go back, I would want to go back without any knowledge of the future.  But, you might say, you would have the same outcome.  You would still be awkward and shy and dateless.  And I would say, yes, you are right.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Who I was is what has created who I am.  If I were able to change anything about the past it would change who I am today, and I like who I am now.  If I were to change just one small thing, it might change how I feel about myself, and that is not a risk I am willing to take.

Anyone else out there feel the same way?

 

 

